Vending management software is the software an operator uses to run machines that are already placed: reading each machine over DEX or a telemeter, taking cashless payment, working out what to load and prekitting it, scheduling which machines get driven to, and reporting what sold. VendBuddy is not that whole stack and does not pretend to be: it is the business-development and route-operations layer for operators running 1 to 50 machines, it does not read machine telemetry, and if you need DEX you will buy a VMS or a telemeter alongside it.
Which raises the question this page exists to answer. If a VMS runs the machines you have, what runs the part before that, where you find the buildings and sign them? Every platform below is good at the first job. Not one of them claims the second.
Search your ZIP free
A VMS runs the machines you already placed. This is the other half: the buildings near you, ranked, with the name of the person who decides.
Show me the buildings near me →Free account, no card. 5 credits to start. Searching never costs a credit.
The five jobs a VMS does, and which ones we do
Strip the feature lists down and a vending management system is doing five things. Here is each one, and an honest answer on whether VendBuddy covers it.
- 1. Read the machines. DEX over a telemeter or a cellular card reader, so the software knows what sold without anyone opening a door. VendBuddy: no. We import Nayax sales data into your P&L, and that is the whole of our machine-data story. We read no DEX.
- 2. Take the money. A card reader on the machine, plus the settlement and fee reporting behind it. VendBuddy: no. We sell no hardware and process no payments.
- 3. Know what to load. Par levels, planograms, and a prekit list so the truck leaves with what the machines need and comes back empty. VendBuddy: partly. There is a restock log with photos, a product catalogue with real margins on 664 SKUs, and a planner that matches a product mix to a location. There are no prekit sheets and no par-level engine.
- 4. Decide where to drive. Dynamic scheduling that skips machines nothing sold in. VendBuddy: partly. A route dashboard, a restock log and machine-level performance, but no telemetry to schedule off, so the deciding is still yours.
- 5. Say whether it made money. Machine and location P&L, product performance, commission statements. VendBuddy: yes. This is the one we do properly, down to a tax-ready P&L export and underperformer flags on your own COGS.
How the platforms compare
Ten platforms, seven columns, no invented numbers. Where a vendor publishes a price it is in the table. Where a vendor gates pricing behind a demo request, the cell says so instead of guessing.
| Platform | Reads the machines (DEX) | Cashless hardware | Prekitting and scheduling | Micro markets | Finds new locations | Published pricing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VendBuddy (us) | No. Nayax sales data imports into the P&L; we read no DEX ourselves. | No. We sell no hardware. | Restock log and route dashboard. No prekit sheets, no dynamic scheduling. | No market module. | Yes. Lead Finder, decision-maker contacts, scripts, pipeline, Contract Creator. | $29 / $49 / $79 a month, published. |
| VendSoft | No own device. Site lists Nayax, Cantaloupe and Crane. | None of its own. | Par levels, pick lists, route planning. | Not stated. | Not stated. | $19 (5 machines), $49 (30), $199 (120). 14-day trial, no card. |
| Cantaloupe Seed | Machine-level monitoring and alerts. The word DEX does not appear on the Seed pages we read. | Yes, own readers. | Prekits from machine-level inventory; dynamic, interval or static scheduling on Seed Pro. | Yes (Seed Markets). | Not stated. | Quote-based. Seed Live free with a Cantaloupe reader; Cantaloupe ONE stated as $0 upfront, monthly amount not published. |
| Parlevel | Yes. Collects from cashless readers or telemeters; its PayPlus guide describes 4 scheduled DEX a day plus DEX on Demand. | Yes (PayPlus, 4G EMV). | Precise Prekitting and Dynamic Routing. | Yes (Micro Market Max / Mini, koin). | Not stated. Parlevel Link is an ordering portal for existing accounts. | Not published. No pricing page. |
| Vagabond (vīv) | Connects devices you already own. No telemeter of its own named. | Yes (vīv Reader, listed at $299 plus $9.95 a month plus 5.95%). | Live machine views, remote price changes, dynamic and static scheduling. Prekitting: confirm. | Yes (vīv Markets, Fixturelite). | Not stated. | Reader price published. VMS pricing not published. |
| Gimme | Yes. Gimme Key Pro is a Bluetooth DEX reader; syncs remotely through Crane, Cantaloupe and Nayax devices. | No own reader. | Mobile Picking for warehouse prekitting; Gimme Field for route service (iOS). | Yes, via Avanti and 365 Markets. | Not stated. | Published by operator revenue: $24,057/yr + $9,510 setup ($1M–$10M), $69,990/yr + $17,890 setup ($10M–$50M). Key Pro $199. |
| Nayax (Core / VendVue) | Confirm. Other vendors list Nayax as their telemetry and cashless integration. | Confirm with the vendor. | Confirm. | Confirm. | Not stated by any source we could read. | Confirm with the vendor. |
| 365 Retail Markets | Not stated as a named DEX product on the pages we read. | Yes (PayPlus Cashless Reader, PayPlus Omni). | 365 Prekitting and 365 Inventory Management. Route scheduling: confirm. | Yes, extensively (MM6, PicoCooler Vision, Stockwell). | Not stated. | Not published. An ROI calculator sits where prices would. |
| Vendon | Yes. Own vBox device (MDB, EXE, CCI, BDV). | A card reader product is listed; model not named. | Prekitting and route optimisation. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Not published. No pricing page. |
| VendSys | No own device. Lists Nayax, Crane, Cantaloupe, CoinCo and MEI. | No own reader. | Route Optimization and the Mobile X driver app. Prekitting wording: confirm. | Yes (Micro Market Management). | Not stated. | Not published. |
Every non-VendBuddy cell is read off that vendor’s own public pages, fetched 9 September 2026. “Not stated” means the vendor’s site did not claim it, which is not the same as the platform being unable to do it. “Confirm” means we could not read the page: nayax.com returned a 403 to every automated request that day. Vendors change their sites, so check anything here that would change your decision.
Which one at each stage
0 to 5 machines: you do not need a VMS yet
At five machines you are doing about 150 restocks a year. A spreadsheet and the dashboard that came with your card reader cover that without complaint, and Cantaloupe states Seed Live ships free with a Cantaloupe reader, so you may already own the free version. If you want something real for almost nothing, VendSoft publishes $19 a month for up to 5 machines with a 14-day trial and no card.
The honest read at this stage: your bottleneck is not software, it is that you have five machines and want fifteen. Spend the money on getting to machine six.
5 to 25 machines: a VMS starts paying for itself
Somewhere in here the waste gets expensive. You drive to a machine that did not need service, you load a tote and bring half of it home, you lose track of which location is quietly losing money. That is what prekitting and dynamic scheduling are for, and they are worth real money once the route is big enough for the mistakes to repeat weekly.
VendSoft Pro at $49 a month for 30 machines is the cheapest published option at this size. Vagabond, Vendon and Parlevel all fit this range on capability, and all three quote rather than publish, so budget a demo call. If you are moving off a spreadsheet or another platform, what to export before you cancel anything is the checklist that keeps you from losing your sales history.
25 machines and up: the enterprise tier, and its price tags
This is where Parlevel, VendSys, 365 Retail Markets and Cantaloupe Seed Pro live. Worth knowing before you book the demo: Cantaloupe positions Seed Pro for operators with more than 200 machines and points smaller routes at Seed Cashless+, and Gimme publishes tiers that start at operators doing $1M a year in revenue, at $24,057 a year plus a $9,510 setup fee. Those are not small-operator numbers, and nobody hides them out of malice. They are priced for the routes they are built for.
The pricing honesty part
Most of this category doesn’t publish prices, and that’s worth saying plainly instead of filling the gap with made-up figures. Of the ten platforms above, three publish something real: VendSoft ($19, $49, $199 a month by machine count), Gimme (annual tiers by operator revenue, plus setup fees), and Vagabond for its reader hardware. Cantaloupe publishes purchase models and states Cantaloupe ONE has $0 upfront cost, but not the monthly amount. Parlevel, Vendon, VendSys and 365 route you to a form. Nayax we could not read at all on 9 September 2026.
VendBuddy publishes: $29, $49 or $79 a month, annual billing about 20% off, and a free tier with 5 credits and no card. That isn’t a claim to be cheaper than a VMS, because we aren’t selling the same thing. It’s easier to publish a price when the product does not need a site survey and a telemeter on every machine.
Where we actually sit
If you have 40 machines, a warehouse and two drivers, buy a VMS. You need DEX, prekitting and dynamic routing, and none of that is what we built. Plenty of our users run a VMS and run VendBuddy next to it, because the two tools touch different weeks of the same business.
If you have three machines and no fourth location, a VMS will organise a problem you do not have yet. What you need is a list of buildings near you worth walking into, the name of the person who decides at each one, something to say when you get there, and a placement agreement ready before the yes goes cold. That is how the location finder works, and how the contract side works.
Search your ZIP free
A VMS runs the machines you already placed. This is the other half: the buildings near you, ranked, with the name of the person who decides.
Show me the buildings near me →Free account, no card. 5 credits to start. Searching never costs a credit.
Questions people actually type
What is vending management software?
Vending management software (a VMS) is the software an operator uses to run machines that are already placed. It does five jobs: reads each machine over DEX or a telemeter, takes cashless payment, works out what to load and prekits it, schedules which machines get driven to, and reports what sold and what it earned. It does not find you locations. Not one of the ten platforms compared on this page claims a feature for finding or signing new accounts, which is the gap VendBuddy fills.
What is the best vending management software for small business?
It depends on whether your machines or your empty calendar are the problem. Under about five machines the cheapest honest answer is the dashboard that came with your card reader plus a spreadsheet: Cantaloupe says Seed Live ships free with a Cantaloupe reader, and VendSoft publishes $19 a month for up to 5 machines with a 14-day trial and no card. Past five machines a real VMS starts earning its fee. If the actual problem is that you have three machines and no fourth location, a VMS will not fix that, and VendBuddy is the tool for that half of the job.
Do I need vending management software for 5 machines?
Usually not. Five machines is roughly 150 restocks a year, which a phone-notes list and a spreadsheet handle without complaint, and your card reader already reports sales by SKU. The point where a VMS pays for itself is when you start driving to machines that did not need service, or guessing at what to load and bringing half of it home. That tends to land somewhere between 10 and 25 machines. Before then, spend the money on getting to machine number six.
Is there free vending management software?
There is no full-featured VMS that is free, and anyone telling you otherwise is counting a free trial. The closest real things: Cantaloupe states Seed Live comes free with a Cantaloupe card reader, and VendSoft publishes a 14-day free trial with no card required. VendBuddy has a genuinely free tier (5 credits, no card) but it is the location-finding side, not a VMS. For a route under five machines, a spreadsheet plus your reader dashboard is free and good enough.
What is the best vending route management app?
Every platform in the table below ships a driver app, and the app is usually the part operators judge the platform on: Cantaloupe has Seed Driver, Parlevel has Stock, Gimme has Gimme Field (iOS only, per their site), VendSys has Mobile X, Vendon has Vendon Mobile, VendSoft ships its own app with unlimited driver accounts. Ask for a demo on a real phone before you sign anything, because a driver app that fights you on a loading dock costs more than the subscription.
What software do vending machine operators use?
Small operators mostly use whatever came with the card reader, plus a spreadsheet. Mid-size routes use a paid VMS: VendSoft, Vagabond, Vendon, Parlevel, VendSys or Cantaloupe Seed. Large operators use Cantaloupe Seed Pro (positioned by Cantaloupe at more than 200 machines), 365 Retail Markets, or Gimme layered on top of another platform. Separately from all of it, operators still growing use something for business development, and until recently that meant a spreadsheet of buildings they had driven past.
Read the platform by platform version
Each of these is a feature-by-feature write-up sourced from the vendor’s own pages, with what it costs where that is published and who it actually fits: Cantaloupe Seed, Parlevel, Vagabond and vīv, Gimme, and VendSoft. The ranked-by-stage roundup is the best vending management software for 2026, and VendSoft vs VendBuddy is the head-to-head if those two are your shortlist.
Related
Vending machine software explains the two-layer model this page assumes. Managing multiple platforms is for when you already have four logins. The Nayax review covers the card reader layer, and reading your sales reports is what to do with the data once any of these is running.