Original Research · Published October 8, 2026

Vending Commission Rates and Contract Terms 2026: What Public Contracts Show

Published October 8, 202628 public documents2015 to 2026By VendBuddy
Key numbers, October 8, 2026
  1. Among 7 public vending contracts and solicitations that state one commission rate for every machine, the median rate paid to the agency was 25% of sales, ranging from 10% to 52% (VendBuddy review of public vending contracts, n=7 documents, October 8, 2026).
  2. Every one of the 7 public vending documents that name a general-liability amount requires $1,000,000 per occurrence, and 4 of them add a $2,000,000 aggregate (VendBuddy review of public vending contracts, n=7 documents, October 8, 2026).
  3. 13 of 17 public vending documents that address payment require card readers on the machines, 3 require them only in some places or on request, and 1 asks for coins and bills only (VendBuddy review of public vending contracts, n=17 documents, October 8, 2026).
  4. Public agencies that put a number on healthy vending asked for a median of 50% healthy items per machine, from 20% to 75% (VendBuddy review of public vending contracts, n=8 documents, October 8, 2026).
  5. The median initial term in public vending contracts was 3 years, and 5 years once every renewal option is used (VendBuddy review of public vending contracts, n=21 documents, October 8, 2026).

What do vending contracts actually say? Private placement agreements are confidential, but public agencies post theirs. We read 28 public vending solicitations, agreements and awards from cities, counties, school districts, a housing authority and public colleges and recorded what each one states: the commission, the term, insurance minimums, healthy-vending rules, card readers and service frequency. Every row links to the original.

Download all 28 contracts (CSV) · Full table · Methodology · Cite this report

What public agencies get paid

Most public solicitations do not print a rate at all: in 13 of the 28 documents the bidder names the commission, and the agency picks the best offer. The rest fix a split, set a floor, or record what was actually signed. Across the 7 documents that state one rate for every machine, the median is 25% of sales (range 10% to 52%). Counting only signed or awarded rates (n=4), the values are 52%, 25%, 10%, 22%. Where rates differ by product line, beverages carry the higher rate: 15%, 40%, 25% for drinks against 10% and 8% for snacks in the documents that split them.

Bar chart of vending commission rates in public contracts, from 10% to 52%, median 25%
Every commission rate stated in the 28 public documents reviewed (10 documents state one). Median of single rates: 25% (n=7).

Two cautions. Miami-Dade's 52% came from a sealed bid where price decided the award, and the next two offers were 43% and 42.5%; that is a countywide contract awarded on price alone, not a benchmark for a single break room. And Redmond's 10% is a state rule: in Washington, machines in public-access areas pay at least 10% of gross to the Department of Services for the Blind. Federal and many state buildings have similar blind-vendor priority rules; see how to get vending machines in government buildings.

Commission rates stated in the documents
DocumentRateHow the rate is setBase
City of Takoma Park, MD (2026)25%Set by the agencygross
City of Redmond, WA (2024)10%Required minimumgross
City of Oak Harbor, WA (2023)25%Required minimumgross
Miami-Dade County, FL (2024)52%Awarded / signed rategross
City of Los Angeles, Department of Recreation and Parks, CA (2026)25%Awarded / signed rategross
County of Marin, CA (2015)snack 10%, cold beverage 15%, hot beverage 20%Awarded / signed rategross after sales tax
Pitt Community College, NC (2024)snack 8%, beverage 40%Outgoing contract rategross less sales tax
Ingham County, MI (2025)10%Awarded / signed ratenet
Missouri State University, MO (2020)22%Awarded / signed rategross
Bristol Tennessee City Schools, TN (2024)beverage 25%Awarded / signed ratecash collected

How long the contracts run

The usual shape is a short first term with renewal options at the agency's discretion. The median initial term is 3 years (n=21, range 1 to 10), and 5 years if every renewal is taken (n=17). One-year terms with annual renewals are common in small cities and school districts; the longest (10 years or more) are university beverage-and-vending contracts (Jackson State, Missouri State) and the Los Angeles parks concession once its two 5-year extensions are counted.

Bar chart of initial vending contract terms, median 3 years
Initial contract term in public vending documents (n=21); median 3 years.

Insurance, card readers, healthy items and service

Insurance. 7 documents name a general-liability amount, and every one asks for $1,000,000 per occurrence; 4 add a $2,000,000 aggregate and 4 require $1,000,000 of auto liability. Budget for that certificate before you bid.

Card readers. Of the 17 documents that address payment, 13 require card acceptance on every machine, 3 require it only in busy spots or on request, and 1 (City of Oak Harbor, 2023) lists coins and bills only. Gila County and Takoma Park also name tap-to-pay or mobile payments.

Healthy items. 16 documents mention healthy products; 8 put a number on it, with a median of 50% of items (range 20% to 75%). The Wake County school district points to the USDA Smart Snacks standard instead of a percentage.

Bar chart of healthy-vending requirements from 20% to 75% of items
Minimum share of healthy items required per machine, documents that set a number (n=8); median 50%.

Service. 13 documents say how often to restock or how fast to respond. Restocking runs from seven days a week (Erie County) to at least monthly (Seattle Housing Authority); Gila County scales it to traffic (twice a week at busy sites, every two weeks at remote ones). Where a repair response time is set it is 24 hours (City of Takoma Park), 24 hours (City of Redmond), 8 hours (County of Erie).

Bar chart of how many public vending documents state each contract term
How many of the 28 public vending documents state each kind of term.

All 28 documents

Every document we used, newest first, with a link to the original. "Not stated" means the document does not say; we did not fill gaps from other sources. The CSV has the same rows with the exact notes.

28 public vending documents, 2015 to 2026
AgencyTypeYearCommissionTermGL per occurrenceHealthy itemsCard readersService
City of Los Angeles, Department of Recreation and Parks, CACity or village202625% (awarded / signed rate)5 years plus two 5-year extension optionsnot stated20%requirednot stated
City of Takoma Park, MDCity or village202625% (set by the agency)1 year plus up to two 1-year renewals$1,000,00050%some machinesRespond to service requests within 24 hours
County of Gila, AZCounty2026bidder names it1 year plus up to three 1-year renewalsnot statednot statedrequiredTwice a week at high-traffic sites, weekly at standard sites, every two weeks at remote sites
Tri-County Technical College, SCCollege or university2026bidder names it1 year plus four 1-year renewalsnot statednot statednot statednot stated
Wake County Public School System, NCSchool district2026bidder names it12 months plus up to four 1-year renewalsnot statedyes, no %requiredFrequency agreed per school
Calhoun Community College, ALCollege or university2025bidder names itNovember 1, 2025 to October 31, 2028not statednot statedsome machinesFive days a week
City of League City, TXCity or village2025not stated3 years plus two 1-year renewalsnot statednot statedrequirednot stated
City Schools of Decatur, GASchool district2025bidder names it1 year plus four 1-year renewalsnot statednot statedrequirednot stated
Ingham County, MICounty202510% (awarded / signed rate)not statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Jackson State University, MSCollege or university2025bidder names it10 years plus an optional 3 yearsnot statedyes, no %requirednot stated
McLennan County, TXCounty2025bidder names it12 monthsnot stated60%some machinesnot stated
Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati (City of Cincinnati), OHUtility district2025not stated5 years plus up to five 1-year renewals$1,000,000yes, no %requiredRegular maintenance and timely restocking; replace non-working machines
St. Charles County, MOCounty2025bidder names it1 year plus two 1-year extensionsnot statednot statedrequiredDaily, weekly or monthly as needed
Village of Park Forest, ILCity or village2025bidder names it12 months with annual renewal for two more yearsnot statedyes, no %not statednot stated
Winthrop University, SCCollege or university2025not statedJune 1, 2025 to May 31, 2030not statednot statednot statednot stated
Wor-Wic Community College, MDCollege or university2025not statedFebruary 7, 2026 to May 15, 2026, plus four 1-year renewals$1,000,000yes, no %requiredAt least twice a week
Bristol Tennessee City Schools, TNSchool district2024beverage 25% (awarded / signed rate)July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2027not statednot statednot statednot stated
City of Redmond, WACity or village202410% (required minimum)not statednot statedyes, no %requiredRespond within 24 hours; monthly inspection and cleaning
Miami-Dade County, FLCounty202452% (awarded / signed rate)5-year termnot stated20%not statednot stated
Pitt Community College, NCCollege or university2024snack 8%, beverage 40% (outgoing contract rate)3 years plus two 1-year renewalsnot statednot statednot statednot stated
City of Friendswood, TXCity or village2023bidder names it3 years plus two 1-year renewals$1,000,000yes, no %requiredOne to two times per week depending on the location
City of Oak Harbor, WACity or village202325% (required minimum)5 years with a 90-day termination clause$1,000,000not statednot requiredInspect and restock as needed
County of Erie, NYCounty2023bidder names itJanuary 1, 2024 to December 31, 2026not statedyes, no %requiredWithin 8 hours of notice; seven-day-a-week service
Seattle Housing Authority, WAHousing authority2023bidder names itnot statednot stated50%not statedCollect and restock at least monthly
Missouri State University, MOCollege or university202022% (awarded / signed rate)January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2021not statednot statednot statednot stated
Howard County, MDCounty2019not statednot statednot stated75%not statednot stated
City of Ann Arbor, MICity or village2016bidder names it3 years plus one 3-year renewal$1,000,00050%requirednot stated
County of Marin, CACounty2015snack 10%, cold beverage 15%, hot beverage 20% (awarded / signed rate)Initial term to June 30, 2017, extendable by mutual consent$1,000,00075%not statedEvery weekday

Methodology and limits

Using this when you bid

Price your offer from your own per-machine numbers, then check it against these ranges. To find public buildings and other locations near you, VendBuddy's Lead Finder searches by ZIP and location type, and the 2026 Location Index shows which location types operators look at most. For the bid itself, see how to get vending machine contracts.

Cite this report

VendBuddy, "Vending Commission Rates and Contract Terms 2026: What Public Contracts Show", October 8, 2026, vendbuddy.io/research/vending-commission-rates

Journalists, researchers and operators may quote any figure or reuse the charts and CSV with that citation and a link. The underlying documents belong to the agencies that published them.

More research: all VendBuddy reports.